top of page
  • Writer's pictureKent Brockman - Investigative Sports Journalist

U14s Boys Academy Cup Team Announcement

This Wednesday 8 September 2021, the MacKillop Saints will be sending 3 teams out to Humpty Doo to take on long term rivals, Taminmin College, in the second edition of the ‘Academy Cup’. The Cup is a tri-series event that in this season’s competition will feature teams in u14s Boys and Middle School girls divisions. The concept evolved from an idea between then Taminmin Rugby League Academy Director, Mr. Dean White and Saints’ Director of Rugby (League & Union) back in 2019 for a formal competition between the two best school Rugby League programs in the Territory. That year, Taminmin were able to defeat an out-of-sorts Saints at MacKillop Field by 20 points to 16.

Today we were able to interview Saints Head Coach & Rugby Director, Mr. Matthew Sharp, at his favourite table in his favourite restaurant, before the NRL kicked off, where he was able to give an exclusive announcement about the u14s Boys team –

u14s Team vs Taminmin College – Academy Cup Round 1

  1. Harry Heath

  2. Jayden Mick (TBC)

  3. Jack Elliott

  4. Riley Heffernan

  5. Elijah Williamson

  6. Jack Miller (c)

  7. Campbell Stolberg

  8. Fraser Brown

  9. Jack Yewsang (vc)

  10. Trent Harvey

  11. Ethan McKenzie

  12. Eligh Pomroy

  13. Josh Marsh

Interchange – Angus Cram, Michael Tilmouth (TBC), Connor Walker, Jake Goodwin, Rileigh Snowden, Dylan Diaz, Curtis Guttwaltz.

Sharp was upbeat about his team’s chances, but admitted that Taminmin will be tough opponents, especially at home. “The opening round will be very interesting for a number of very good reasons”, Sharp said, adding that, “We’ve named a strong team, but both teams will be at less than full strength on Wednesday with the local league finals being held on the weekend following. A number of first team players have decided to sit out in preparation for that on both sides”.

Coming into Round 1, the Saints plan to be without key players including Catholic Cup captain, Will McCallum, and star halves, Kye Ryan and Osca Bonar. Other unavailable key players for Round 1 include Nate Jarrett-Wright, Taylem Sariago, Alfie Walker, Max Antella, Arman Dharni, Zion Lafele-Selio and Cooper Williamson. “When you look at the list of unavailable players this week, and the team we have been able to assemble, you can clearly see the quality depth the Saints production line continues to yield”, Coach Matthew Sharp said. “For me”, he added, “the most exciting aspect of Round 1 will be seeing our players go out there and play for a position in the team for Round 2 where we hope to be back at full-strength”.

When asked to name players to keep an eye on in this upcoming match, Coach Sharp offered the following names –

Campbell Stolberg – Stolberg is a quality half in the local leagues and will make his Saints debut on Wednesday. With usual halves Kye Ryan and Osca Bonar to return and Harry Heath filling in at fullback, expect Stolberg to have a big game in the halves next to captain, Jack Miller. He won’t be wanting to give up the number 7 jersey for Round 2.

Jack Yewsang – Jack has been handed the deputy sheriff badge for the match and it is a well deserved nod from the coach for his good form and quality leadership over his years in the ochre and navy jersey. Expect Yewsang to lead his forwards around the field well and to plug up the middle of the pitch with his high level defensive technique.

Jack Elliott – Elliott missed the Catholic Cup last month with injury and will be keen for a big showing in the backs with Taylem Sariago, Max Antella and Cooper Williamson to return, hot on his tail. Elliott was a standout player in Term 2’s Saints League Academy.

Good luck to all teams participating in the Cup and to our players representing their local league clubs in grand finals next weekend.

Kent Brockman – Investigative Sports Journalist

99 views0 comments


bottom of page